Losing the Blogging Will

Sorry I’ve not blogged in so long, things have been kind of manic.

I’m still living in Manchester with my friend, but I’ve put in an application for my own place now which will make things easier. I’ve also asked that it be a 2 bed so said friend can move in with me. It’s good because neither of us do living on our own very well. As was discovered when I last lived on my own, and I’ve been living with her for the past 8 months because she struggles living on her own. It’s a big commitment to undertake being someones carer, but I’m finding it a lot less stressful than I originally thought. Probably because I don’t really act as her carer. I’m more a friend that helps out when needed. But that’s what friends are for, right?

We went to Tenerife in April for 2 weeks to celebrate her 21st. It was absolutely brilliant and we both really enjoyed it. It was the break both of us needed and getting to see dad and just chill out without having to worry about appointments and stuff was excellent. What ruined it though was getting home and finding out the electric had gone off, which had knocked the freezer off and we’d lost £50 worth of food. We had left £7.50 on the electric meter to make sure there was enough to run the freezer etc which had to stay on while we were away. There was enough food in there to make sure that when we got back we weren’t running around trying to buy food etc but had forgotten that Scottish Power have a standing charge of 50p a day. We were away for 3 weeks in total and then running the freezer killed it. So we get back, there’s no electric, no food and no money. Bollox. Luckily we had enough money to get the electric sorted and cancel the debt that had run into it and our support worker and cookie’s mum rallied to get us some food and things sorted. The day was saved!

I’ve been back in hospital a few times aswell, but that’s nothing new. I think it’s just a case of being something I have to learn to live with, but hopefully my new consultant will have some better ideas than the one in Leicester. So crossing fingers! 

Love till next time! 

Leave a Reply

