The Pre-Operation Assessment.

Well, As I’ve been saying for a while now, I had my pre-op appointment today. It didn’t really go aswell as I wanted. I met the anesthetist today just before I had my proper nurse assessment. The anesthetist was absolutely lovely, and I’ve met him before I think, when I was in ICU before. He said from the word go that he didn’t think I’d be able to have a general anesthetic. He even explained all the risks involved and told me about what would happen when they are doing the spinal. He even spoke to another anesthetist to get their opinion on it to see if there was any chance whatsoever that they should do a GA. It’s shit, and I’m not happy about it, but I’m going to have to live with it. They’ve told me everything that’s going to happen and how they’re going to do it. I’m scared. There’s no doubt about it, but they aren’t going to do a GA. So all I’m waiting on now is my actual op date. I’ve been told to ring them on Monday and they’ll give me a date all being well. So hopefully I’ll be able to tell dad and he’ll be able to come for it. It would be good because I think the thing that’s getting me the most is doing it on my own. But everything else is looking OK for it. And for once I wasn’t running stupidly tachycardic despite the fact I’m off my heart meds. 

Here’s to an op date being soon.

Leave a Reply

