Moving House

As I think I said in my last post, we got offered a flat about a month ago and then got our moving date about 2 weeks ago. We had the signing up on the 23rd June, and we were handing our keys in on the 1st July to the old flat. Unfortunately on the Wednesday my chest decided that it didn’t want to play ball anymore and didn’t like me moving stuff and the dust that was being uprooted. I fought it for a long time because I knew cookie needed me to help her around the flat, but I think at the end of the day I wasn’t going to be any use if my chest was throwing one anyway. So I decided I’d give in and went into hospital, and got out yesterday. Still not feeling right though so I’m going to go and see my practice nurse tomorrow. She knows me well enough that if I’m not well she’ll just make me go to hospital and that’s that.

Bit pissed off that I’m feeling pants so soon after discharge to be honest. Specially when I’m trying to get stuff sorted in my new flat. I’ve managed quite a bit in the 2 days I’ve been home and it would just be a pain in the arse if I end up in hospital again. But here’s hoping my lungs cop on and she doesn’t.  But my hip’s doing so much better. I’ve got full movement in it again and am slowly building the strength back up in it. I have to learn to walk all over again though, I’ve been on crutches for so long that my body isn’t letting me put all my weight through my hip. And I’m getting a lot of pain in my ankle because I’ve not been used to using it. I think I may go get it x-rayed, cause it shouldn’t be as sore as it is. But these are all small prices to pay for being able to use my hip again.

But anyway, we’ve now moved into our new flat. A few things still need sorted out like the gas and electric meters and the water changing over.  And the kitchen is a lot smaller than we’re used to and have had to put the fridge in the hall. But these are all things that we can get around. I’ve got a pretty big room, and am sort of gathering furniture over a few days trying to get more storage space etc. But gumtree, freecycle and charity shops seem to be the best idea atm.  But I do like the flat. Even if it’s still full of boxes. It’s the first place I’ve actually been able to say is “My flat.” My name’s on the tenancy agreement aswell as cookie’s, so I have just as much responsibility as she does. It’s my first flat. And I’m excited about what the future will bring.

Leave a Reply

