Mad Month.

Well it’s been about a month since I last updated my blog. But it has been a completely nutty month. As I said I got back from Tenerife just before my last blog, and then I had to go to Ireland to collect my little brother for his trip over to Manchester for 10 days. I can honestly say, I’ve only just managed to get time to recover from it all, but it was so worth it. 

Anyway, TJ came over on the 30th October. It was a complete surprise for him, and he didn’t know he was coming until we told him the night before. We were going to wait until I was at the airport and then tell him, but we decided to do it the night before because it meant that we knew he’d go to bed that night for me and get up the next morning when he was told. The look on his face when I told him was magic. And then when I told him about things like my Xbox live, wifi and what he’d be doing, his smile just grew and grew. It really does make the madness worth it. He really was a well behaved kid. 

I ended up having to get an ambulance out on his 2nd night here and I was in hospital overnight with the beginnings of a chest infection. I was lucky that my consultant was fantastic about it and let me out on the provision that if I deteriorated in the slightest I’d come straight back in. But TJ coped magnificently with it all, despite having ambulances out, having to stay at home on his own with cookie and coming to visit me the next day when I was on the ward. 

Most of the time we sat at home watching TV, playing the xbox and just chilling with TJ and cookie. I wasn’t able to do an awful lot because I did have an infection and was feeling pretty rough, and it did annoy me, but I did get to spend a lot of time with him and he just liked being able to pad about in his PJ’s with me and playing games and sitting on his tablet all day. 

On his birthday I took him to the Legoland Discovery Center in the Trafford Center. It was a fantastic day. He was able to enjoy everything in it and appreciate it aswell. I spoilt him rotten and he got to experience everything that was there. He got some good momentos of the day in the form of the pictures they take, a driving licence they made him for driving a Lego City police car. I ended up killing my crutches that day haha. I put the bottom of the crutch pole through the ferrule on the bottom which was a complete pain in the arse, but we got it sorted! I got him loads of presents for his birthday aswell. I never ever get to spoil him properly or spend any decent time with him, and I don’t think I’ll get to do it again for a very long time. It was so worth all the madness. I got him a Sony 4GB MP3 player, skullcandy headphones, an Angry Birds Star Wars flask, a book, Back to the Future for his Wii, Call Of Duty: Black Ops for his xbox, a glow stick torch that lights up red and some clothes. Cookie got him a lego watch and paid for his cake. Then we had Domino’s pizza that night and we all ate far too much, but it was fantastic. 

Image

 

I left TJ back to Ireland on the 9th November, and was back on the 12th. I knew I wasn’t well when I left to be honest. I spent a few days in bed just chilling out and trying to get over it. I was back and forward to the doctors for bits and bobs and I knew they were getting worried but I was able to avoid getting admitted because they knew that if I felt it was needed I’d go. I decided I’d go in on Saturday night. I just wasn’t getting any better and was starting to struggle more and more and couldn’t risk it much longer. What was scary this time was that I called an ambulance at about 19.30. By 20.00 no ambulance had arrived yet. I was on my own and was starting to get scared. I knew I was getting worse and worse, and I had to call them back. Luckily I managed to grab my epipen and that kept me going until the paramedics got here about 10mins later. I dread to think what would’ve happened if I didn’t have my epipens. When I got to A&E, the triage nurse tried sending me to minors.  They had to take me through majors to get there, and they caught me in majors and sent me straight to resus. My gases were all over the show and the fact that they were going to put me in a cubicle on my own scares me. I’m going to speak to my GP and consultant about it because this was not something that I want to have to deal with again if I’m really unwell. But I was in hospital for 6 days, which is about my average now. 

While I was in hospital dad came over. It had been planned for a while that I would be going to see a pyschcologist. The appointment had been made for Thursday, but I thought that being in hospital would mean that it would’ve been cancelled. I didn’t know dad had rung the ward and asked them if I could have leave and had been organising it all behind my back. I was so angry but I’m over it now to be honest. I’m still angry with him for going behind my back but I’ve done something about it now and there’s no point in sitting getting pissed about it again. But I had the pysch assessment anyway and she’s going to send me the report next week. I had a row with dad about it because he was demanding a copy of the report and I was rather pissed off about it. It’s confidential for a reason and if I had of realised he had wanted a copy of it, I don’t think I’d have been able to be as open as I was with the pysch. But I e-mailed her about it and she put my worries at ease by saying that she’d amend the report for me if I felt there was anything in it that would be insensitive to me or dad. 

I got discharged on Friday morning and went straight from the hospital to Edinburgh. My stepbrother was in the Edinburgh Gang Show and I had been planning to go up and see if for weeks. I knew that going up as soon as I’d been discharged was silly, but I couldn’t miss it. I knew it meant a lot to him that I’d got up to see it and I really did enjoy getting up. It was a very funny, musical and entertaining show. And Sean, as usual did fantastically. He is a wee star and I’m so proud of him. He’s been through so much in the past few years and keeps smiling regardless. 

But I got back last night, and I’m just recovering from the past month now to be honest. I’m spending my days watching TV, playing my xbox and just relaxing. I learnt the hard way that overdoing it makes me unwell when I ended up unwell after TJ went home. And as much as I’d do it again in a heartbeat, it’s tiring and hard work. 

But the next few weeks should be relaxing and I need to rest in preparation for my trip to Tenerife over Christmas. But I do enjoy seeing family and friends and as much as my health might moan, I wouldn’t give it up. 

Until next time people! 

Leave a Reply

