Project 365 – Week 6

Image (2)Day 39 – 8th Feb – So it’s my 2nd last day in hospital. My hip has been playing havoc so I’ve been having IV paracetamol. I needed to go to the loo while I was having it run, so I had to find somewhere to hang it while I was in the loo so that it didn’t fall, and it kept running. In our respiratory ward there is an oxygen tap in every bathroom. It’s a really good idea because obviously when you’re on a chest ward, a lot of patients are going to be on oxygen, and when you want to use the loo etc a lot of times on other wards you have to find an oxygen cylinder and take that with you, worrying about it running out and having to carry it with you. But I was able to hang my paracetamol off the tap while I was brushing my teeth and getting ready for bed!

Day 40 – 9th Feb – I’m getting so bored of the hospital menu. I’ve been going to my hospital for over 2 years now, and during that time have not once seen a change in the menu. I can pretty much rhyme off the majority of the days menus. So after a while you start to want your own food when you’re in hospital. I’ve started bringing in these pasta pots. They’re a bit like Pot Noodles but they’re pasta ones. I much prefer the pasta pots to the noodles. But it does bring a bit of variety to the diet of the hospital inpatient!

Day 41 – 10th Feb – Well, I’m still nebbing, but at least now I’m nebbing at home! Anyone who spends quite a lot of time in hospital, or spends regular periods of time away from home will understand how doing tasks at home, that you had been doing away is so much easier and enjoyable. When I’m having to neb in hospital, I’m doing it on their terms. I do it on their neb sets, with their nebs and generally in bed while being watched by about 6 others. When I’m at home, I can do it where I want, on my own neb, when I want and in private. Because I’ve got a compressor nebuliser in the living room, and then my PARI eFlow that runs on batteries that generally lives in my handbag in my bedroom. So I can put my neb in my pocket and the mouthpiece in my gob, and walk about with my neb. I can even go into the toilet if I want! But there really is nothing like getting home to your own flat. I could lie in my room, with my bed and chill out the way I want to.

Day 42 – 11th Feb – As much as my room is an absolute bombsite, and it’s freezing half the time, there really is nothing better than spending a night in your own bed in your own bedroom. Because I’d spent the past week in hospital, in a plasticy bed, with a thin blanket with crap pillows, getting home to my own bed, with my double duvet, 7 pillows and home comforts made my nights sleep so much more comfortable. I can lie in my own bed and watch TV as late as I want, and what I want, without having to pay for the pleasure! There really is no place like home.

Image (5)

Day 43 – 12th Feb – I’ve had to start tidying my room because I’m getting a new bed in the morning. So I’ve been collecting all the cans that are in my room. Bearing in mind I’d tidied my room just before I went to hospital, the can tower size really is quite special. I spent most of the day just trying to get my room tidied. I hate it when my room’s a mess. It’s hard enough for me to walk and stop myself from falling over without my room having rubbish all over the floor.  So normally my room’s pretty tidy. Although in saying that, I can never find anything I’m looking for! My TV remotes and hairbrushes seem to be the two things that I’m constantly loosing. Cookie keeps telling me that I should stick them to my head.

Day 45 – 13th Feb – My new iPod came today. I ordered one of the new iPod touch RED [PRODUCT] iPods and got it engraved. For as long as I’ve known about iPods, I’ve wanted a red engraved one. So now that I can actually afford one, I decided I was going to get one. It says “It’s one of those days again, when music is your only friend.” Anyone that knows me, will know how much music I listen to and that I’m never far from my headphones and iPod. I got some beats by Dre a few weeks ago, and it’s amazing how much of a difference a good pair of headphones make. I got my first mp3 player when I was about 12, and since then I’ve never been without some form of media player. I gave my first mp3 player to my friend Michelle. 10 years on pretty much and it still works. Contrary to my family’s belief, I do actually take care of my stuff.

Day 46 – 14th Feb – Well it’s Valentines Day today, and for the first time in a few years, I’ve actually got a boyfriend to celebrate it with. I knew I was going to be going out, so I spent most of the day in bed resting up in preperation for going out. I wanted to be able to enjoy my evening. I got the bus to The Trafford Center to meet Billy with Cookie. She had to go to M&S to return something and then we had a tootle around a couple of shops, and I went into Currys to get a new bag for my camera. I wanted to get a messenger bag that would carry my camera, lens and a few other bits and I found a pretty decent one that I was chuffed with. Then I tootled off to meet Billy and Cookie headed off to catch her bus home. We were going to see the new Lego Movie. I’m a big lego fan and have oodles of the stuff still to build from my spending spree after my backpay. Billy had paid for the Premier seats in the Odeon. I’ve never paid the extra for them, but they’re not much different to the normal ones in all honesty! The only advantage is their position is slightly better and direct to the screen, but I don’t think it’s anything that I would rant and rave about. After the film we went to the food court and grabbed some food. I didn’t really want to go to a big restaurant and neither did Billy, so we both grabbed a KFC. Very romantic! But it was still a fantastic evening, and it was the first time in ages I’ve been to the cinema, and it was all the better to be doing it with my boyfriend!

Leave a Reply

