Going to university.

So, I can finally say I’m starting university! I’m going to the University of Salford in September to study Biomedical Science. I just need to send off my birth certificate to the student finance people, finish my DSA application and it should be all sorted!

I don’t know whether I’m excited or terrified to be honest. It’s one of those things that I’ve been waiting so long for now that it just seemed like it was never going to happen, and now that it’s here, it’s scaring the crap out of me. So, so much can go wrong as far as my health is concerned. I’m scared that my chest is going to cause havoc and I’m not going to be able to keep up. The university have been great and have put a really detailed support plan in place for me, and are being really accommodating, but it’s still daunting. Uni is hard enough for healthy people, but unfortunately I have to accept that I’m not healthy.

On the other hand, this is something I’ve been looking forward to for so long that I just want something new and big to sink my teeth into. To give me a proper reason to get out of bed in the mornings and a reason to want to fight when things are at their worst. This is a course that I’m really interested in, and it will hopefully lead on to big things for me. While I know it’s a long shot of it happening, I’d love to be able to go on and do medicine in a few years. But if I don’t, it won’t be the end of the world because I’ll still be able to do a job I love and hopefully make a difference to someones life in a hidden manner (I never was one for a big fuss). While I wanted to do nursing more than anything, I have to realise that it’s just not going to be something I can safely do at the minute. But who knows, it might be something that I can go on to do in a few years if I decide Biomed isn’t for me.

Although I’m in hospital at the minute, I’m doing a lot better than I was (well duh, I’m blogging) and am feeling better. But I can’t help but feel like this is a never ending saga in my life. Big asthma attack, admission for a week, home for a month and repeat. Although my consultant is trying to get me to regular elective admissions, he won’t give in to 4 weekly ones instead of five which I’ll never manage. Maybe I need to go all the angry Irish on him. We shall see!

But for now, University, here I come!

5 thoughts on “Going to university.

  1. Graduate entry Medicine is a lot more competitive, but it is not impossible. For me, I applied to do any course just to get into the system, as I don’t know what I want to do. I applied for Neuroscience and I should be going to the University of Manchester in September…that is, if I don’t change my mind. Good luck with everything!

    • Yea, i’ve spoken to a few people that have said that. And more and more unis are dropping the course so it’s getting more difficult to get onto, but time will tell! Good luck doing NeuroScience. It sounds really interesting!

      • It is interesting, but I’m not sure if I want to do that. I don’t know what I want to do, I’m so confused.

      • I was like that. Cause my passion was to do nursing, having to find an alternative was crushing. It might take time but you’ll find it.

Leave a Reply

