Keep on keeping on.

So the past few weeks since I found out about my shoulder have been pretty manic.

Digesting the news that I needed more surgery has been tough. Last year when I had my hips done I thought it was the last time I was going to need surgery for a long time and it just seems like when things start going right for me, something always comes up. It’s a shit one. But there’s nothing really that I can do about it except suck it up and get on with it. Yea, I’m not going to lie. I’m scared of the surgery. I met the anaesthetist on Tuesday and went through my options and whatnot and it seems like the only option is for me to have a general anaesthetic. My chest consultant has said so long as I’m admitted beforehand for IV’s and am sent to ICU after he’s happy enough for it to go ahead. Still scary though.

Ended up back in hospital spiking temperatures and feeling shite about 2 weeks after my last admission. They suspected I had a massive infection in my PICC line and had me on IV Domestos for a week. IV Domestos is evvvvillll! It makes you feel like poop in general but I throw up rather spectacularly on it.  But a week after being discharged I’m still feeling rather poop and am throwing temps a lot. It’s annoying me. I’m spending all day in bed trying not to fall asleep. Stupid body.

We did get to go to Aerial Extreme last week though. It was a year since I had my left hip done and I wanted to do something big to mark it. Unfortunately being a day out of hospital with ?sepsis wasn’t the best time to go and do it, but we’d already paid for it so I wasn’t going to lose £78 for it. I made it round the little course fine, but about half way through the big one my heartrate hit 190 and I got really dizzy and had to stop. It was the height of shit (bad pun alert). I was so angry that I had to stop when I’d been looking forward to it for ages. Hearts are totally overrated.

Things in other ways are going well though. I’ve had my application for DSA approved and am just waiting on an assessment for it now. And I’ve just checked my emails to find my acceptance letter from university. I squealed so loudly I set the noise trigger on the CCTV off haha. I’ve got my reading list aswell so I’ve been ordering some of my uni books and trying to revise stuff. I’ve not been in any form of education since 2011 and it’s scaring the crap out of me. I have enough problems trying to keep up with things without not having any idea how I’m going to keep up. I’m a hard worker though, hopefully it’ll work out though. Cookie’s sitting her driving test next week for the 4th time. I think she’ll pass it. The times she’s failed has been something totally stupid that had it have been a different examiner she’d probably have passed.

I’ve got a manic August planned. Dad comes home from Cambodia at the end of the month then I’m going to Edinburgh for a week to stay with him and Irene. It’s Irene and Sean’s birthday about a week after I go up so I’m gonna take them out for food when I’m up and do early presents. Then I’m back in Manchester for about a week then Cookie and I are heading to Ireland for a week. I can’t wait! We’re going to see my family but my best friend Michelle is home from Spain in August so I’m gonna see her. I’ve not seen her in absolutely ages and I can’t wait! Plus it’s Chris’ birthday when I’m home so we’re going to go up to Belfast and stay in a youth hostel overnight so we can see him properly. I’m so excited!!!

Bring on August.

Leave a Reply

