Wales

So Cookie and I went camping in Wales for the first time on our own. And my first time ever camping. I’m not going to lie, I was massively apprehensive about it, pretty much to the point that I didn’t want to go. But I’m so bloody glad I did.

We went on Monday, and although I had several hospital appointments, we managed to get away by about 2pm. The car was literally full to the gills. To the point the dog ended up in the passenger seat footwell. Needless to say I was a bit stiff by the time we got there!

DSC00571

We got there about 5ish on Monday, and it took us a while to unload the car and set up the tent and whatnot. Then we went for a wander around the campsite to figure out where the toilet block was, where the water tap was and just to get a general idea of our bearings. We got some chips on the way back and sat and nattered as the sun went down. It was a fab end to the day. DSC00586.JPG

I’m not going to do a day by day thing, because to be fully honest, I don’t remember what order or what day we did things on. I know that I spent a day at the beach with Cookie and Lizzie and for the first time in as long as I can remember I was able to run around and chase Lizzie up and down the beach and go in the sea with her. It was the best feeling ever and I can’t describe it. There’s been so many times I didn’t think I was going to be able to do that again, be it during hip problems or asthma attacks, at times I honestly believed I was never going to be able to do some of the things I enjoyed again. I paid for it the next day, but it was so totally worth it.

We spent a lot of time just walking up and down beaches, and went to Conwy which was good. We got massively pished on though and I ended up having to walk back to the car in my shorts. Thankfully the trousers I was wearing zipped off halfway so I wasn’t walking around totally drenched. Mum would murder me if she knew.

DSC00612.JPG

It was a really good trip and I enjoyed it a hell of a lot more than I expected to. Infact, for the first time in as long as I can remember, I was happy and enjoying myself for several days in a row. People would ask how I am, and I could honestly answer “Good”. It was good to just be able to get away from all the medical shit, uni problems, money worries etc. I don’t remember the last time I had that. Unfortunately it’s back to earth with a bang as I’m now swamped with uni revision and hospital appointments.

So here’s to actually passing my exams…

 

revisiongif1.gif

Leave a Reply

